Return to Normal View

DOE Homepage Students Educators Community Family Administrators and Staff

 Bureau of K-12 Assessment 

Text Index Google Custom Search

Victoria Ash
Bureau Chief
325 West Gaines Street
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0400

Phone: 850-245-0513
Fax: 850-245-0771
Contact Us

About Us

The Bureau of K-12 Assessment is responsible for all aspects of Florida's K-12 statewide student assessment programs, including developing, administering, scoring, and reporting the results for the FCAT 2.0 program, as well as assisting with the administration and reporting of several other K-12 student assessment programs. Services are provided both by Florida Department of Education (FDOE) staff and through various contracts with assessment vendors. The primary goal of these assessments is to provide information about student learning in Florida, as required by Florida law (see Section 1008.22, Florida Statutes).

Florida's K-12 Statewide Assessment Program

In the 2010-2011 school year, the statewide assessment programs began transitioning to assessing student achievement of the Next Generation Sunshine State Standards through the implementation of the Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test® 2.0 (FCAT 2.0) and Florida End-of-Course (EOC) Assessments. To learn more about the individual K-12 assessments offered in Florida, visit the links below:

  • FCAT 2.0: The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test® 2.0, which measures student success with the Next Generation Sunshine State Standards, includes assessments in reading (grades 3-10), mathematics (grades 3-8), writing (grades 4, 8, and 10), and science (grades 5 and 8) in the 2013-2014 school year.
  • FCAT: The Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test® measured student success with the Sunshine State Standards. Historically, the FCAT measured the Sunshine State Standards in reading and mathematics (grades 3-10), science (grades 5, 8, and 11), and writing (grades 4, 8, and 10).
  • Florida EOC Assessments: The Florida End-of-Course Assessments are computer-based tests designed to measure student achievement of the Next Generation Sunshine State Standards for specific middle- and high-school level courses, as outlined in their course descriptions. The Algebra 1 EOC Assessment was administered for the first time in spring 2011; the Biology 1 and Geometry EOC Assessments were administered for the first time in spring 2012; the U.S. History EOC Assessment was administered for the first time in spring 2013; and the Civics EOC Assessment will be administered to seventh graders for the first time in 2014.
  • NAEP: The National Assessment of Educational Progress is a periodic national assessment of America's students in mathematics, reading, science, writing, the arts, civics, economics, geography, and U.S. history.
  • International Assessments: The United States participated in the following two important international studies in the spring of 2011 to help benchmark student performance in the U. S. compared to other countries around the world: Trends in International Mathematics and Science Study (TIMSS) and Progress in International Reading Literacy Study (PIRLS). The Program for International Student Assessment (PISA) was administered in the fall of 2012. PIRLS is administered every five years, TIMSS every four years, and PISA every three years. All three international assessments and research projects are designed to measure trends in achievement and are managed in the United States by the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES).